Diamond Quality

Posted on February 16, 2016 by The Team Flora Bhattachary Fine Jewellery

Yakshini and Lakshmi Rings in Gold and Diamond

Diamonds are valued using the Four C's: Carat, Clarity, Colour and Cut. We've given you a full outline of what these mean below.  Where we use white diamonds above 5mm in size, we can supply a GIA certificate if requested.  Please make us aware if you require a certificate.  


The size of a diamond is measured by carat weight.  A one carat (1ct) diamond equates to 100 points, so a 1/2 carat (.50ct) equals 50 points.  We do our best to quote the carat content for all our designs.  This is detailed in the product description.  


The clarity of a diamond measures the degree to which a stone has inclusions.  Most natural diamonds will have small inclusions.  Where we specify brilliant cut diamonds, we use VS1 clarity and above. 

Diamond Clarity Chart


Diamonds are graded in colour from D (colourless) to Z (deeper colour). Where we specify white diamonds, we use colour G and above.  We also often use brown diamonds for their beautiful natural colour.  You will see these identified as champagne, sherry or cognac diamonds.  

Diamond Colour Chart


The precision and proportion of a diamond cut affect it's brilliance and sparkle.  Below is a chart of the standard cuts for white diamonds.  We also use more unusual and 'antique' cuts - particularly rose cut diamonds and Indian 'polki' sliced diamonds.  These diamonds are chosen for their individual and unique natural character.  The cut of the diamonds we use are identified in the product description.

Diamond Shapes Chart